8 Replies Latest reply on May 1, 2014 9:59 AM by Scott Jenkins

Title blocks and sheet formats

Scott Jenkins

Hi all,

I am very new to solidworks I went on vacation and came back to find a new computer and solidworks. I am trying to setup multiple sheet formats in each standard ansi sheet size. I have one good template that I would like to use as a base line for all the sheets. I understand that a title block is just that a block but when I try to save it and then insert it into a different sheet format I cannot find that title block. Very confusing solidworks in terminology when compared to Autocad and no we do not use autocad anymore

• Re: Title blocks and sheet formats
          Anna Wood

No one else at your company has setup the company standards yet for SolidWorks?

Get Matt Lombard's SolidWorks Administration Bible.

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_3_12?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=solidworks+administration+bible&sprefix=SolidWorks+a%2Cstripbooks%2C330

Cheers,

Anna

John Burrill

Scott, to clarify the differences among a sheet format, a block and a title block:

a block in SolidWorks is very similar to a block in AutoCAD both in the way that it's created and stored and the way attributes are populated.  You can use blocks in a drawing for symbols or borders. 

block_w_attributes1.PNG

To make an attribute in a block definition, create an annotion text entity and while it's selected, populate the 'attribute' checkbox in the property manager.  You can use a block for a drawing border by placing it in the sheet format of the drawing.  However, you can't modify attribute values from the sheet and I've had problems getting hatched regions of title blocks to display correctly.  So while you can use a block for a border, there isn't really an advantage to doing so.  blocks can be saved to external files.