7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 10, 2017 7:36 AM by Pedro Rangel

Difference between contacts in static simulation

Fahmi Ahmad

Hi everyone,

Can anybody help me to explain the differences between contacts in solidworks simulation (global, component, local) and on what condition to use those contact?

• Re: Difference between contacts in static simulation
          Devi Prasad Samal

Hello Fahmi Ahmad,

I am not an expert but I can say that Global contact is by default "Bonded" applied to your assembly. that means all the compoenent which are in contact with eachother will be treated as full penetration welded to each other. Use of global contact is: you dont have to go to every touching faces in the assembly to define a contact option manually.

The contact which do not need welded joints such as In bolted type connection, 2 plates are not welded, they are holded together by bolts. SO we need to apply no-pentration there. hence at that condition we need to apply local contact(No-penetration) which will overide the global contact bonded once you applied them.

Most of the times I use surface to surface contact i.e contact set to over ride global bonded contact. Also You can use component contact to over ride the global contact. Both contact set & component contact are local contact sets.

Component contact can be applied between 2 component and contact set is used to apply contact between 2 faces. In component contact you can slect 2 components and solidworks will automatically try to find out the faces which are in contact with eachother and apply the contact over there.  But in local conatct set you have to choose every touching faces manually to apply contact.

But I believe component contact uses more resource than contact set.

Hope it helps.

Justin Strempke

Just to note, those are not contacts but rather contact locations.  Contacts would be bonded, no-penetration, etc.