5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 29, 2014 9:58 AM by Don Howe

How to create forging draft or oscillating draft

Don Howe

I used to know how to do this but it's been so long my method doesn't seem to work anymore. How do I create forging draft or what was refered to many years ago as oscillating draft. I'm a SW2004 user.

I have a very simple part which I want to create a surface loft using 3 profiles each with a pierce relationship and a guide curve. Once the loft is created I would remove the material in front of the lofted surface using a surface cut. See the images below

forgingdraft.jpg

This is what I end up with when I create the loft

forgingdraft2.jpg

What I am looking for to happen is the following (after the surface cut)

forgingdraft3.jpg

The image above is taken from a paper I wrote years ago when I worked in the Forging Industry and at that time I was using SW97or 99. So I know it can be done...I just don't remember how to do it.

• Re: How to create forging draft or oscillating draft
          Roland Schwarz

Draft from parting line won't do it?

Otherwise, you can make a sweep.  Usweep along a straigh line and use your loft curve as a guide curve.  The sweep profile is just a straight line constrained to the guide and angled to your draft.

• Re: How to create forging draft or oscillating draft
              Don Howe