13 Replies Latest reply on Nov 17, 2015 11:21 AM by Sarah Dwight

Drawing Zone Callouts

Timothy Wagner

Hi,

I'm new to SolidWorks, and I've been looking for info on if it's possible to automate the callouts for sheet and zone for view location.  As an example, lets say I have a detail view called out on sheet 1, zone B3, and the actual view is show on sheet 3, zone C2.  I would like to place a note either in or near the detail view name that's something like this "SHEET 1, ZB3", and on the detail view circle it would be "SHEET 3, ZC2".  I would also like these notes to be linked to the actual location of the view or the view callouts.  Meaning, lets say I move the detail to a different view zone, or even sheet, then the associated note would update to show the new view location.

This may already be an open discussion, so I'm sorry if I'm bringing up old subjects.  Any help would be great.

• Re: Drawing Zone Callouts
          Jeremy Feist

this has been brought up before - and SW does not currently have the capability to have these be automatic/parametric.

Matthew Lorono

Timothy,

Welcome to the SOLIDWORKS Forums! 

You mentioned that you are new to SOLIDWORKS?  Does this mean you previously used another CAD application.  If so, did that application have the function of zones?

Thanks!

Timothy Wagner

Hi Matthew,

I am a former PTC ProE/Wildfire/Creo/Whatever user.  In ProE, if the formats are setup properly, there are some paramters you can include in notes to link them to the drawing views and view callouts.  It was always awkward using it the way they had it, but I imagine there is significant room for improvement.  Why, is SolidWorks looking for ideas???

Phil Halonen