14 Replies Latest reply on Apr 23, 2014 4:42 PM by Robert Berry

Removing tangent edges from section views.

Wassim Hassoun

More of a philosophical question then anything. I have been using solidworks for over 8 years now. 10 months ago i accepted a new position at my current company. The old school engineers keep harking at me that my section views need to have the tangent edges turned off. Now by default solidworks has them on so i have never turned them off. i have worked for many companies and nobody has ever complained and told me to change this until now. They say GD&T is no tangent lines, and they say i would fail a drafting class for having those lines in my drawings. I constantly remind them this is 3d modeling not chizzling drawings into stone. What do you guys think, should i do no tangent lines all the time. what are some benefits and drawback to both.

I have attached a pic comparing the two.

Thank you in advance!

• Re: Removing tangent edges from section views.
          Glenn Schroeder

I don't know what any particular standard may be, but I have them all turned off for all views (Tools > Options > System Options > Drawings > Display Style > "Tangent Edges > Removed").  In the rare case where they're needed, it's easy enough to turn them on for a particular view.

Tom dunn

I have been a draftsman/designer for the past for 25 years and that is the first time I have ever heard of that. "no tangent lines" & I don't understand what GD & T would have anything to do with showing them either?

Sometimes though companies have there own way of doing things that are outside of a drafting standard. If the old guys have to check, approve your work in the end, you might have to go with the flow.   Tom

Jeff Holliday

I think it is more of a company standard. I normally use tangent edges shown with font. This still shows them without appearing to clutter the drawings.

Jody Holm