18 Replies Latest reply on Mar 25, 2014 9:28 PM by John Burrill

Im a very messy Modeler

Andi H

My design tree is a nightmare planes and reference sketchs everyone once a certian point is reached I spent more time going back and looking for a reference sketch or plane than I do modeling.

How can I better organize the design tree? Meaning design approach aside from names or folders how can I spearate planes and sketches and reference geometry from the features

• Re: Im a very messy Modeler
          Josh Brady

So, you're a sloppy modeler and you don't organize your model tree in a way that makes sense in the future?

In the immortal words of Bob Newhart:

"STOP IT!"

Seriously, though, only you know what your models are like and how you have to interact with them in the future.  You are in the best position to take some time to plan things up front, name things well, organize them into folders, etc. to fit with your workflow.

Joe Kuzich

Andi,

Here's a few things I try to do as I go.

Name all my sketches and planes.  I use sketches and planes to apply mates to.  Once I create one, I give it a descriptive name. (Often I can make my parts reference those sketches so if I change the sketch the parts auto-update.)

Move sketches and planes to the top of the tree as soon as I make them.  This reduces circular references and its easier to find the right sketch if you don't have to hunt for it in a long tree of items.

Similar types of parts get moved into a folder and the folder named for easy reference.

Name any patterns that I use as well. 

Glenn Schroeder

As Joe said, name sketches, planes, and patterns.  I also name features if there are more than a few, and seeing some of your models here you certainly have more than a few.  It's also helpful to group related sketches, planes, features, and patterns in folders (as long as they are only used by other features in the same folder) and name the folders.