3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 3, 2014 4:00 PM by Bill McEachern

Solidworks flow simulation

Riaz Kayser

Hi, I am a graduate student in University of Malaya, For my research i want to simulate a problem and want to use this result in my research work, but in some persons view the accuracy of solidworks flow simulation is not upto that level that can be used for research works.Those who have solved these problems can pls share ur experience on the accuracy of the simulation . Thank you.

• Re: Solidworks flow simulation
          Jared Conway

There are validation examples in the documentation.

If there is still concern, setup some known problems and solve them.

If the software wasn't accurate, it wouldn't be on the market.

But note, accuracy is based on the problem setup and physics. If the physics of your problem cannot be solved with the methods used or your problem is setup incorrectly, you won't get good results. But I can say from my work with it, we have gotten within degrees for several problems.

Shaun Densberger

I was told this from a Dassault employee who works in the simulation group, "we can get you 80% there with 20% of the effort." I really like this statement because, in my experience, it does a pretty good job of accurately portraying SW simulation (assuming you're trying to simulation something that SW supports). It does give rise to an important question: does the remaining 20% matter? Two acquaintances of mine that work primarily in thermal-fluid simulations and who are both competent engineers (one of them has a Ph.D. from a very prestigious US university where he developed CFD codes), have told me that they flat out will not use SW (and instead go with a much more expensive package). This could be due to valid, technical reasons, or some sort of bias; I can't say because I'm not a CFD guy. What I do know is that on the structural side, SW can only create tet elements, which for a h-version code seems rather odd.