2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 19, 2014 8:49 PM by jeff eyberse

Creating mates and exporting them to another assembly

Matija Prprovic

Hello all,

I am new in Solidworks and have this little problem in it

So to start the story, I am in Student racing team and everyone has thier job, mine is the seat, I took the assembly with the full model, chasis, body and some seat which is located properly but isn't proper size.

So, I have a seat inside the chasis in my assembly, and I have to export the seat and place it in the same place in another assembly.

Is it possible to create some mates (3 would be enough) and then export the seat with those mates (both chasis are same in both assemblies) and connect those mates with chasis.

Or is there possibly any easier way to do it?

Thank you in advance!

Matija

• Re: Creating mates and exporting them to another assembly
          John Burrill

Matija,

You can't attach a mate to one component and a mate isn't an entity that  you can copy and paste., so conceptually think of a mate as a relationship-without the participating entities, it doesn't really exist.

Having said that, there are quite a few tools and techniques you could use.

If you want to copy your seat with it's mates from one assembly to another this one time, try this

Open the assembly you want to insert the seat into.  We'll call this your top-level assembly.

Insert into the top-level assembly the assembly that contains the seat and place it.  It's now a subassembly of your top-level assembly.

Right-click on the subassembly in the feature manager tree and select "Dissolve Subassembly."  This effectively removes the subassembly replaces it with all of the parts and mates that it contained.  So you'll have your seat and all of the parts it's mated to.