9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 20, 2014 2:22 PM by J. Mather

I have this Sketch, I want to bring it into solidworks..

Vinny Cas

Hey guys!

So im very very new to solidworks. Ive been working with it in a project I decided to take on. Problem is im more of a photoshop illustator designer and not so much a engineerer..

That being said here is my problem and Im hoping someone can take the time out of there day to help me out possibly..

So I am making car "rims" and or wheels. they piece of the wheel I am designing is the FACE. With that, i have came up with a amazing turbine style design that I would love to execute but Im not sure how to.. Cut on angles, not extrude completly through a object, how to extrdue on angles etc..

I was mor eor less hoping someone could maybe help me do it if I sent the File, I will attach my Template (what im making the designs in) and the Image i created in another program..

Heres what im trying to Make in solidworks..

8jaj-1.png

And here is what my blanke solidworks template looks like. (i dont need the lip or the barrel of the wheel, just the dish/face part)

Screen Shot 2014-01-18 at 6.00.36 PM.png

Not sure how to dray this Turbine object on the face, I know that the circular linar pattern is the easy part tho.

help!

• Re: I have this Sketch, I want to bring it into solidworks..
          Jeff Mirisola

Vinny,

What you'll want to do is create the inner hub, where your bolt holes will be, and the outer portion of the rim, leaving the 'turbine' part empty. You'll then need to look at using the loft feature to create the turbine blades. Go through the help section on lofts to see how to go about doing this.

The biggest issue I see is that the actual profile of your blades isn't defined in the 2D sketch. This is something that will be necessary to accurately create the solid model.

Vinny Cas