15 Replies Latest reply on Jan 28, 2014 2:18 PM by Mike Pogue

Advice someone new to drafting...

Chris Mackedanz

Hello Everyone.

So, I decided a while back to go back to college and get a college degree in mechanical drafting from a local college.  Long story short, I am not very happy with the program, and it's partially because of the fact that I have to work full time to make ends meet.

I have been lucky enough to get a job doing mechanical drafting, with solidworks, for about the past 9 months.  I am actually starting a new job on Monday, still as a solidworks drafter at a new company.

Now, my question is this... I already have an A.A.S. Degree granted it isn't in Drafting of any kind, it's in Audio Technology.  That being said, is it worth it for me to actually go and get a peice of paper that says I have some general knowledge of drafting practices....OR would be better for me to spend my time and energy into specific certifications, like from solid works?

And what certifications should I be looking into?

Thanks everyone!

• Re: Advice someone new to drafting...
          Jeff Mirisola

Chris,

I don't have a degree and, honestly, there are many times when I wish I did. There are many positions which I know I have the skills for but because I don't have a piece of paper stating as much, I often find myself unable to get past the first round. That being said, I can also attest to the fact that my years of experience, coupled with my certifications from SolidWorks, have gotten me some really fun jobs.

What it comes down to is this: do the majority of the jobs you're interested in come with a degree requirement and do you have the wherewithawl do get said degree? If so, do it. I think you'll be in a better place in the end.

Richard Barber