14 Replies Latest reply on Jan 22, 2014 2:41 PM by Jared Conway

RC plane force values not making sense

Dwreck Basti

Hi all,

I'm new to CFD, and currently trying to analyze the lift and drag forces on an rc plane that I designed in SolidWorks 2013.

The plane was designed as a single part with multiple bodies.

I followed some youtube tutorials on how to setup the parameters. I'm aware that I need to include some more specific values

in my setup, but just wanted an estimate at first.

The plane is at a zero angle of attack and being simulated at a flying speed of 75 ft/s.

The problem that I'm facing is that the output drag force value that I get is higher than the lift force value, which is incorrect.

I've attached the model and the setup that I used.

Can you guys please give me some pointers as to what I'm doing wrong and if my setup is incorrect?

Thanks in advance!

• Re: RC plane force values not making sense
          Jared Conway

quick look at the setup it looks fine.

the global goals should be ok for outputting what you want. many times people don't choose the appropriate faces for the output, global should elimiante that potential issue.

here's my recommendation start much smaller, for example the wing profile in 2d to get an idea of how big the comp domain needs to be and how fine the mesh needs to be to get reaosnable results. there are several forum posts about this.

then you can work your way up to the full model. maybe a half model to start.

Dwreck Basti

Thanks for your reply!

I've tried doing it with the wing before and the values obtained were reasonable. I followed

the same procedures for this one.

I'll try increasing the comp domain and have a finer mesh. But I have a feeling that this will

still give similar results as before, with the drag force being more than the lift. Maybe there's

something that I'm missing in the setup?

Jared Conway