21 Replies Latest reply on May 17, 2015 12:39 PM by J. Mather

How are sheet metal drawings made

Andi H

I have never done or worked with sheet metal before. but how are the drawings for sheet metal made. You make drawings for flat pattern then make drawings for the bended model?

• Re: How are sheet metal drawings made
          Jeremy Feist

It depends on your requirements. if you (or your company) are doing the bending, you will likely need the flat pattern, and to fully dimension it.

if you are having someone else bend it, all you need is a drawing of the finished part - they should develope the flat based on their processes (the flat can be different depending on HOW you bend it)

J. Mather

I am confused by what you mean by "drawings", but -

Normally you would model the part in its finished folded up form with the desired finished dimensions. within the modeling environment (*.sldprt).  This is best done using the sheet metal tools (especially for beginners) but any modeling tools can be used as long as you follow sheet metal rules (uniform thickness, perpendicular edges....).

Sometimes it is necessary or easier to use tools other than sheet metal tools and then convert to sheet metal.

Once you have the finished form - SolidWorks should automatically give you the flat pattern that would be required to make the part.  You need to know something about bend allowances, k-factors, bend tables if the part dimensions are close tolerance.

Once the folded part is created by you and the flat pattern is created by SolidWorks, then you can create drawings of both the folded flat pattern states in the drawing (*.slddrw) environment.