10 Replies Latest reply on Jan 2, 2014 2:55 PM by Anna Wood

SW 2013 parts won't manipulate smoothly

John Wilkes

Hi,

SW2013 parts and assemblies have recently started to freeze when attempting to manipulate them with either my mouse or my 3D mouse.

2012 is still installed and doesn't cause this problem.

Background downloader is turned off, and my system has 2 terabytes of memory available.

Any ideas?

• Re: SW 2013 parts won't manipulate smoothly
          Robert D.

I would try first updating your graphics card. This is number 1 when dealing with SW. Hope this helps.

John Wilkes

Hi Robert,

I don't think so - I've been running SW 2013 for about 8 months on my desktop without any graphics card changes, and all was good until I switched my computer off for a week over Xmas. I forget the card model, because I'm not at work now, but it's a NVIDEA GeForce GT something...

It's a $4000.00 desktop, so it's pretty well ramped up - 6 Gig RAM, 2 Terabytes memory, 4 hard drives configured for RAID 5. (not as fast as RAID 0, but a bit safer...)

Besides, SW is mostly a single thread process program - only for rendering does it require a good graphics card.

I'm referring to un-rendered parts and assemblies.

So my opinion is that there is something screwy going on with the program - personally, I've noticed a degradation of SW in the past few years, as opposed to an improvement. (Apart from slots - but that's about it...).

I've also increased the CPU page file allocation to 9000 Mb - this makes things only marginally better.

Any more ideas?

Jeremy Feist

actually, rendering (photoview, etc.) uses the CPU not the GPU.

it COULD be your video card - even the best of them will eventually fail - try running in "software openGL mode" and see if the removes the problems (the system will run at least a little slower). if so then it IS the video card.

John Wilkes

Sorry, I stand corrected, I wasn't aware of that.