7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 19, 2013 8:56 AM by Steven Kiley

Nonlinear FEA of a Crimping Process

Steven Kiley

Hey guys,

A colleague of mine sent me some parts to do a non-linear FEA study on. They are 6061-T6 components, where one has its rim crimped over a mating component. The object of the study is to find out how much force is required to crimp the rim. I am fairly new to SolidWorks simulation and I’m not really sure where to even begin. Could anyone walk me through the setup process, or point me to a tutorial that is similar to what I am trying to achieve?

Thanks in advance for the help!

• Re: Nonlinear FEA of a Crimping Process
          Bill McEachern

It looks axisymmetric so use the 2D capbility. set up the probelm like you normally would with contacts etc. You need a elastoplastic material model - see if a bilinear model works (you just need to specify a tangent modulus - it is the slope of the second line of a  two line approximation to the stress strain curve) or get a stress strain curve for the material and use that. I would suggest a von mises plasticity model (pick it from the material in drop down).

Maybe before you start you need to sort out what the simulation needs to achieve for you to say oh that's the force required? You need to come up with something like how much of the swagged bit is in contact with the part it is supposed to hold on when the force is released. Maybe just put a really large force on the end and see when it drives the swagged bit to full contact. That mightbe a good one and is a simpler simulation to run. Check out the 2D non-linear tutorial - it should get you most of the way. Good luck.

Steven Kiley

Bill,