10 Replies Latest reply on Dec 1, 2013 1:07 PM by Rajiv R

Hinge motion in assembly

Torburnu Y

I'm working on a box with 2 hinges. The problem is that the hingesdon't move and aren't fix on the box.

When I change the hinge to flexible, I got errors. I am a beginner of solidworks.

Can any solve this for me.

The assembly in attach.

• Re: Hinge motion in assembly
          Deepak Gupta

Welcome to SolidWorks forums Torburnu.

The lid if fully defined so that is the first reason for error. Secondly your hinge assemblies are not properly defined (need more/different mates) so when you set them to flexible them go haywire.

Here are few steps you can try. Remove all mates between box and lid. Add holes to the box and the lid instead of creating assembly features. Set the hinges to flexible. Then using the hole in the lid and the box, add the hinges in the position. Add additional mates as required. If the working is OK only then add the nuts and screws.

I would have modified the assembly for you but yours is a student version file. But I'll still try to make something for you later that might be helpful.

You might also find this post helpful for your future reference.

Rajiv R

Welcome to SolidWorks forums Torburnu.

I think my attachement will help you to accomplish your work. Let me know if you have further quiries.

I have few points to share with  which I feel is simple misunderstandings what you have with solidworks constraints & assembly.

1. Hinge to be flexible in Main assembly (Assem1.1.1) not to be in sub assembly since you have given a hinge mate.
            2. Lid to be constrained only to top portion of hinge (moving plate of hinge when it actually works) so that when the hinge opens the parts connected to that also will open along with that. If you observe your assembly, the lid is constrained with box along the vertical axis where it will not allow the lid to rotate about the hinge axis.