5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 19, 2013 3:25 PM by Jerry Steiger

Please help.

Dave Demeniuk

I have started a new job using solidworks but was using autocad in my previous design position. My question is, when designing in solidworks how do I develop a new design? I am use to designing with building all my details in one file, then saving each detail out as their own file. I am confused on how to design in solidworks when all these tutorals have existing parts to insert into an assembly file and build them up with mating features. My background is in automotive design in which I design around a specific part.

Another question is about developing weldments. I see all these turtorals making weldments from a line sketch which is fine but when you are designing new, things aren't that simple. So how do I create a weldment using tubing and a series of other parts, example (plates, steel angles, ribs, etc.) and moving them on top of each piece in the weldment as needed with moving them in the z axis?

Thanks for the feedback.

Dave D.

• Re: Please help.
          Deepak Gupta

Welcome to SolidWorks forums Dave.

For your first question answer is  Top-Down Design

For your second question answer is using a 3d sketch for weldment.

You might also find this post helpful for your future reference.

Anna Wood

Dave,

What CAD system did you use before?  What were you doing in automotive design?  Will help us understand where you are coming from for past experience and frame our answers accordingly.

Assuming since your current employer knows you have no SolidWorks experience that they are planning on sending you to a SolidWorks training class soon?

In the meantime, I would recommend that you go through all the SolidWorks Tutorials found under Help in SolidWorks.

Also check out www.solidprofessor.com for some good video based training.

Cheers,

Anna

Bhange Aniket