4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 6, 2017 8:18 AM by Adam Davidson

Error creating PMP: Specified cast is not valid

Jon Kennedy

Hi!

I'm working through Luke's excellent second book "Solidworks API: Advanced Product Development".

I'm trying to get the main Property Manager Page example from the book working.

It registers fine as an add-in but when it comes to creating the property manager page it comes up with this error:

"Error creating PMP: Specified cast is not valid"

I thought I may have made a mistake along the way so re-created the project using the example files that come with the book but get the same message.

The very basic example from earlier in the book where a Property Manager Page is created but has no event hooks / handlers works fine. My vague suspicion is its something to do with the difference between the Sldworks and ISldworks interfaces since this is different between the two examples in the book. But I'm pretty new to this game and am at a loss!

Anyone had a similar problem?

Anyone succesfully created this example with Soldiworks 2013 64bit?

Cheers

Jon

• Re: Error creating PMP: Specified cast is not valid
          Timothy Root

The PMP is a part of the API that has changed significantly between SW versions.  I have had issues where I am trying to use code for a newer version of SW with an older version of SW.  I don't think I got that particular error though.  Can you isolate what line of code the error occurs on?  That might lead you to a solution right there.  If not, post a copy of the problem line here for others to look at.

Artem Taturevych

Make sure that the Property Manager Page handler you are passing to SldWorks::CreatePropertyManagerPage is a public class which implements the IPropertyManagerPage2Handler9 interface (or any other versions of interface). And this handler or the assembly where the handler is a ComVisible assembly registered for COM Interops.

Regards,