15 Replies Latest reply on Nov 27, 2013 3:16 PM by Jared Conway

SoldWorks Plastics Clamp Tonnage Correct ?

Bill Sardini

Why is SolidWorks clamp tonnage so far off from the actual tonnage at the molding machine ?

I have tried finner mesh, different materials, I have entered the process settings from existing plastic parts but the software is always way off. Does anyone know why?

Thanks

Bill Sardini

Design Engineer

Caplugs

• Re: SoldWorks Plastics Clamp Tonnage Correct ?
          Mark Kaiser

I don't have the answer, but what part of SW gives you clamp tonnage for plastic parts?  Is this an add on program?

Jared Conway

could you give a bit more information?

it sounds like you have results from experience/physical test what is the clamping force required?

and what are you getting out of SolidWorks plastics?

i'm not a plastics expert but is there a way to estimate the clamping force? how close is it to physical and the simulation?

it sounds like you're going about things correctly, just trying to understand more about the problem.

Bill Sardini

I am running a SolidWorks Plastics flow simulation on a 36" pipe cap. I am going to let it run overnight. It takes a while. I have the actual values from the molding machine. I will post both tomorrow along with a manual rule of thumb method of calculating.

Thank You.

Bill

Bill Sardini

Hello again Jared. The flow sim finally finished. Here are the results from SolidWorks Plastics. I entered the same plastic material process settings

Y-dir. Clamping Force= 1894.3430 Tonne (2090.0000 Ton U.S)

Requiring injection pressure= 97.5948 Mpa (14200.0000 psi)

The common practice rule of thumb calculations

(area x 2.5 ton + (10% per inch over 1") = 2738.00 ton.

The actual plastic part (36" pipe cap) runs in a 950 ton Toshiba at 931 tons.

I am missing somthing or some of the information is incorrect.

Thank You

Bill

Jared Conway

so rule of thumb predicts 2738?

software predicts 2090?