9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 19, 2013 8:36 PM by Jason Owens

How to Change a Category

Jason Owens

Greetings. Hopefully there is a way to do this other than deleting files and rechecking them in.

Essentially, I am new to the PDM world. We are trying to set up appropriate workflows based on our book of business, and are learning as we go on how to control files folders and other properties.

As a result, some categories are not what I would have them be for eas of access and workflow properties. Does anyone know if there is a method of getting a category changed without deleting the historical data of files?

I look forward to all of the answers this forum will produce!

• Re: How to Change a Category
          Jeff Sweeney

As far as I can tell, a document's category is one of the few things about a document that you cannot change.

Don't forget you can change a file's workflow with a workflow link...regardless of a document's category.

Jason Owens

Jeff,

Thanks for the feedback. Yeah, I have been able to do a workflow link for some of the files that are in incorrect states, but was hoping I could modify the Categories as well.  If anything comes to mind, let me know...even if this means going in through the SQL side of things.

Thanks,

JO

Jeff Sweeney

You could always change it through SQL, but SW never recommends modifying the database directly.

<GettingOnSoapBox>I am not that big of a fan of categories anymore. I used to use them all the time. Honestly though, I don't much of an advantage. I suppose they can help you sort files into workflows if the logic is very complex, but workflow properties do the same thing, you can't search on workflows, all you can do is sort by them in an explorer view. ...and the fact that you cannot remove the "Category" column from my explorer view is beyond me....</GettingOnSoapBox>

In short, I wouldn't spend much time worring about it.

Arto Kvick