15 Replies Latest reply on Oct 16, 2014 7:08 PM by Dusty Dusterhoff

Solidworks too hard a sell to local schools...

Silas Curfman

Dear SolidWorks,

My name is Silas Curfman.  I am a full time mechanical engineer and have happily been a SolidWorks user for over 10 years.  I'm posting here in the forum because my concerns have recieved no responses through my VAR or other e-mails to SolidWorks.  My concern is this, I think there needs to be more resources (from SolidWorks) for professionals trying to volunteer in educational settings.

This year I just had the unpleasant experience of seeing our entire school district make selections of CAD software that should have involved SolidWorks, but didn't.  I am both a volunteer and chair of a communtiy advisory commitee for our High School STEM department.  I was aware of the search process and tried to be involved as much as possible.  During the process I contacted our VAR ans asked for anything they may have in a promotional package for High School and possibly Middle Schools.  They were not able to provide me much other than some pricing of student editions.  I also tried to contact SolidWorks by various e-mails looking for help trying to "sell" our school on SolidWorks.  I recieved no information through that route.  In the end the school disctrict took a confusing course of selecting software that has no professional use within a 70 mile radius, while a number of local businesses are regular SolidWorks users.  It should not have been a difficult argument to make.  Had I had something more than a brochure with a per seat student edition price to pass to them, I think I could have had a better chance. 

I do not believe in bringing up problems without also proposing solutions, so please consider one or more of the following requests:

1) Designate a contact person to assist professionals that want to volunteer in education.  If you have done so already, please make it more obvious.