9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 24, 2013 6:26 PM by Sercan Sercan

Solidworks Rope

Sercan Sercan

Hello everyone,

I am a senior mechanical engineering student and I have project with rope and pulley. I need to roll on rope to pulley with genereating electric motor.

At this point I dont know how I ganna create rope?

How it is be a flexible ?

What mates I need to make

Thanks best regards

• Re: Solidworks Rope
          Paw Opstrup

Can you describe your problem a little better, maybe with a picture.

Sercan Sercan

Thanks for reply,

In my project, supervisors want me to animate my system in Solidworks. You can think my system as a elevator but a little different.

My concern is whether I animate rope rolling around the drum or pulley in solidworks. I have no background about animating rope in solidworks. Is ıt a possible or not. Because if ı modelling rope in part section of solidworks then I take it in assembly section I am definetly sure that it does not work.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8s_wbgXyYCU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h4hy4p3-w6I

second one is more suitable for me.

Deepak Gupta

Check this one with SW2013 files: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5M-4CRnj2xc

Sercan Sercan

I know this video, but I think it is not full rope modelling. I want to rolling around pulley many times and this video only one. I want to make rope which I get link above http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h4hy4p3-w6I

Sercan Sercan

And I have time problem. At this time I should have started my modelling.

Jeff Holliday

I don't believe you are going to be able to model what you are hoping with it being flexible but I do think you have run across a problem that is pretty common - not having enough time to get the project done. Before you commit to starting the modeling, the possibilities should already have been checked out.

Please don't take this negatively - we have all been "bitten" by the problem.

Edward Eaton