5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 20, 2013 5:11 AM by Fred Crickmore

Extruding from scanned line drawing

Fred Crickmore

I am new to SolidWorks, so please excuse what I am sure is a very simplistic question. I am attempting to extrude from a scanned diagram. A simple component comprises three lines forming the three sides of a rectangle - the fourth line is a curve. Thus the overall shape approximates to the cross-sectional outline of a railway carriage.

I am using Adobe Illustrator to do a live trace on this line drawing (after cleaning up the scan). This generates the vector outline in the form of three splines. I'm exporting from AI in .dwg format and then am inserting this into SolidWorks (option under Object).

When I attempt to extrude the process fails. Is there something I should be doing before selecting Extrude?

I am new to SolidWorks, so please excuse what I am sure is a very simplistic question. I am attempting to extrude from a scanned diagram. A simple component comprises three lines forming the three sides of a rectangle - the fourth line is a curve. Thus the overall shape approximates to the cross-sectional outline of a railway carriage.

I am using Adobe Illustrator to do a live trace on this line drawing (after cleaning up the scan). This generates the vector outline in the form of three splines. I'm exporting from AI in .dwg format and then am inserting this into SolidWorks (option under Object).

When I attempt to extrude the process fails. Is there something I should be doing before selecting Extrude?

• Re: Extruding from scanned line drawing
          Deepak Gupta

Welcome to SolidWorks forums Fred.

You should be able to open the DWG file directly in SW instead of importing and into a part or drawing environment (you'll be prompted for that when you open the DWG file). After that you should be able to extrude them.