5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 9, 2013 9:52 PM by Kip Speck

Problem migrating 77000 files into Vault

Roy Hunter

Background - This is a new EPDM 2103 installation & I am new to SW. Our files are in a bit of a mess with lots of missing links etc. We have purchased EPDM to bring some order. Problem -  I am trying to migrate 77000 files from a network drive into a new vault. Hoping to do this overnight but testing has highlighted a problem I have been unable to resolve. When I try to check the files into the Vault, I get the initial report with errors (see attached). I cannot check in the good files until I resolve the issues with the bad ones due to the greyed out check-in button. I intend to fix (or delete) the bad files at a later date as there will be too many to fix at this migration stage. Anyone have any suggestions on how I can proceed to get past the warnings. Thanks.

• Re: Problem migrating 77000 files into Vault
          Todd Becker

WOW! 77000 is a LOT to just simply dump into a new vault (IMO)

When we went to EPDM this year, we had about 30,000 files that needed migration. We went with the idea that when a new project came up, it would be entered into the vault using the correct workflow. Any legacy data would be added when it was time to revise OR if there was time to get it into the vault with our errors.

It sounds like a copout, but we did NOT want to simply take our errors and still have them in the new system.

I noticed on your JPG that you have JPG, XLS, PDF, SLDDRW, SLDASM and SLDPRT files. Have you created categories to handle these different file types? Once the files are put into the vault under a certain category, you can NOT change the category.

Todd

Roy Hunter