5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 9, 2013 9:29 AM by Marc Kirk

Solid Works Laptop

John Michael

I am a student and have recently started using solid works. The laptop I currently use is 3 years old and has only the min req to run solid works, can anyone reccomend a laptop for solidworks and general CAD and DTP work, please? Price range is up to £1250 but would rather not pay the full amount on the laptop.

• Re: Solid Works Laptop
          Patrick Murtaugh

You might discover that the laptop you currently use is more than adequate for a new user. I'd hold off and see what kind of walls you run into when using SolidWorks, ask the question again along with descriptions of what you were doing when the error occured, what kind of error, etc......

Jeff Holliday

Welcome to the Forum!

Patrick is probably correct but I would highly suspect that you will get faster and more reliable performance with a decent system. I suppose from the price that you are in the UK. I don't know if you have access to the Dell Small Business Outlet website there. If so, I would suggest taking a look at some of their Precision Mobile Workstations. They may be refurbished or scratch/dent but I was/am happy with both of the workstations I got from there. The prices are good and there are sales that can further reduce the prices.

Jerry Steiger

John,

The best discussions about hardware and performance take place in the Administration forum. Go there and read the threads about laptops. The general problem you will run up against is that the laptops that have SolidWorks qualified graphics chips are much more expensive than the ones with gamer graphics. The latter may have problems. Lots of students and more than a few professionals get by with them, but it is always a bit of a crap shoot.

Jerry S.

John Michael

Thanks for all the advice. I'll give it a bit then check outlet and whether it's available to the uk.

Marc Kirk

Patrick is on the right track.