6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 3, 2013 9:14 AM by Roland Schwarz

I'm a high school student, can i intern without a degree?

Larissa Albarn

So my school is a technical school and we have to co op in senior year (i'm a junior). My shop is technical drafting, and i do have experience in AutoCAD, and i'm solidworks certified. Right now were learning about architecture. I was wondering if any drafting companies would hire me for a co op job/internship next year without a BS degree, or any type of degree. I would like to even shadow someone.

• Re: I'm a high school student, can i intern without a degree?
          Jerry Steiger

Larissa,

I'm sure that some company will. The bad news is that managers have figured out that students are so desperate to get experience that they will work for nothing or next to nothing, so that is exactly what they will pay you.

Jerry S.

J. Mather

Where are you located?

Find an internship position is often dependent on already knowing someone in the business.  Personal connections.

Jeff Holliday

I would hope that the technical school could at least help you in searching for possibilities. Otherwise, I don't think there are any clear-cut answers about hiring processes. Take any opportunities you can to network with people in varied industries. I hope you also have the opportunity to attend a SolidWorks User Group in your area. We can help you locate one if you wish.

Congrats on the effort you are obviously spending - SW Certification!!

Also - welcome to the discussion forum. Keep posting!

Atif Khan