7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 22, 2014 8:13 PM by Umesh Patel

DXF export from Solidworks gives alwas imperial paper space size.

Umesh Patel

Hi Guys,

I am new to Solidworks,

I recently created my first drawing in Solidworks,

Than I exported dxf, I choose the following export settings,

but when I open the file in draftsite, what I notice is the drawing paper space size is set to imperial,

and the paper space would not fit to actul drawing border,after ward I can correct this in draftsite but it will be good to get it correct by default.

I tried to export many times but this will not go away, and every time I choose some metric sheet size in solidworks , I get imperial paper space size in dxf

I checked in solidworks my drawing options are set to ISO standard.

does any one has faced similar problem and have solution for this one?

Thanks.

dxfexportsettings.png

imperial.png

• Re: DXF export from Solidworks gives alwas imperial paper space size.
          Jan Forkovic

Hi,

Print Configuration Manager can not read the size of the drawing from dwg or dxf file. You must first create a custom configuration files for each dimension of drawings. They are stored as "cfg" files. For example A1.cfg, A2.cfg etc. If you print a drawing A1, you must load A1.cfg.

Jake Brann

I have the same results.  When saving to dxf, I get on paper space sheet with the drawing entities off the plot size.  Additional sheets don't have this issue.  I don't know what drives this whether it is a setting in Solidworks or Autocad.  Anyone have any further thoughts?

sheet2.PNGsheet3.PNG

Ethan Kay

Umesh & Jake,