15 Replies Latest reply on Sep 13, 2013 3:37 PM by Jerry Steiger

College Student: Trying to simulate an impact of bike rim

Jacob Hall

Hello Everyone, I have read a lot in the forums and have not found a solution so I figured I would make my first post.   I am a college student with not a lot of experience so I apologize if I ask for more detail regarding specific directions.

I am trying to simulate and compare a few different bike rim designs and find which one would have the strongest wall/design with impacting a curb/steel beam/ ect.

I have modeled out the design into a 10" extrusion and have tried doing drop tests on the part with a second "steel impact part" in a drop test but my results are not giving what I am looking for.  In the "Impact Test" photo you can see that I did a drop test and had a Displacement of the rim of 1.22mm into the "Steel head".  However, when doing other simulations, I don't feel I am getting the results I would expect.  I am trying to determine which rim would have the best impact resistance with a beam/curb hitting at 25ft/sec.

Is drop test the correct simulation?  Or am I way off?  Thanks a lot!!!

Note: The "BikeRim and Curb" photo was when I tried doing a static impact with two fixed sides.

Jake

• Re: College Student: Trying to simulate an impact of bike rim
          Shaun Densberger

Hey Jacob,

It looks like you're doing this with a linear static analysis (which is arguably the proper way to do this from a trending stand point), which means you could take advtange of some symmetry here! If that extrusion defines your rim cross-section, and would normally be revolved into a wheel, then you can make an axisymmetric model. Using axisymmetry will greatly reduce you model size, allowing much, MUCH quicker run times. I'm not sure if the 2D idealizations are limited to certain SW licenses, but I'm sure someone else here can answer that.