4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 4, 2013 12:35 AM by Daen Hendrickson

Tutorial suggestions for FeatureCAM

Daen Hendrickson

I have unofficially accepted a new position and the company uses SolidWorks. So you will be seeing me around the forums again. This company uses FeatureCAM to drive some CNC machines. I have ZERO experience in this area so will be learning both the software and the machines.

If anyone has suggestions on tutorials or learning methods for FeatureCAM I would appreciate the information. One of the complaints the owner has is that one person spends 8 hours designing in SolidWorks and then the next person spends 8 hours re-working the whole design in FeatureCAM. I am hoping there are some efficiencies to be found there whether through best practices, automation, or software features just not being used. If there are forum spaces concentrating on SW / FC interaction your suggestions are appreciated.

I am looking forward to becoming an active forum member again; looking forward to the new challenges of learning a new industry, and looking forward to making a living again.

Daen

• Re: Tutorial suggestions for FeatureCAM
          Daen Hendrickson

Bumping this. I posted in the evening and it may have scrolled beyond notice by the next day...

Daen

Jerry Steiger

Daen,

That's a lot of great stuff to be looking forward to!

I know nothing about the CAM side of things. I do seem to recall that various posters have mentioned particularly good and bad interactions between Solidworks and various CAM programs. Perhaps FeatureCAM lies toward the bad end of the sprectrum. I don't suppose the boss would be very happy if you suggested changing either the CAD or the CAM software, but that might be the best solution. Try searching in the forums or looking at the "More Like This" threads in the box to the right.