7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 16, 2013 10:03 AM by Peter Ham

newbie here , need help

Max Sinbel

hi

trying to learn solidworks but gut stuck in few things

in the file attached two sketches

1 , there are 2 points almost touching each other at the end of the blue and red sketches , how can i make them perfectly touching ?

2. how can i make the blue sketch follow the contour of the top side red sketch ?

you i have a top and side view of an object but i cant really make an object out of it

thanks for your time and help

• Re: newbie here , need help
          Thomas Vasse

I can't open your part due to future version.

Blue = underdefined

Red = overdefined

This means the sketch has to much relations.

If you want to let the points perfectly touch, hold control and select the points. Then on your right you must click "Coincident"

Please post a screenshot to let me see the contour of the part you are referring to.

~Thomas

Wayne Schafer

Is this what you are trying to accomplish?

John Burrill

Max,

Making two ponits precisely "touch" is a mater of editing the sketch10 and adding a relation to make the corner point on that sketch coincident to the corner point of Sketch3.

It's not entirely clear what you want your final geometry to look like owing to the fact that you have two simplified views of the object in question.  As you learn how to work with more feature types and geometry solutions you'll develope the vocabulary and conceptual understanding to precisely describe your intent.

However, one way to produce a part from front and top view sketches is to extrude one sketch to make a base prism and then cut-extrude the other sketch with the "side to cut" flipped.  this is a basic boolean approach and there are several ways to go about it.

newbie_kickstarter.PNG