10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 6, 2013 7:08 PM by Jerry Steiger

What am I doing wrong in this Simulation?

Eric Henderson

I'm pretty new to Simulation and I'm trying to do a simple analysis on an arm that is bolted together with 4 socket-cap screws, fixed (for all intents and purposes) with no rotation through a hole in the bottom, and a small load on the opposite end. This should be pretty easy but for some reason SW is taking HOURS to run this before giving me an error. Can someone help? Pack & Go files attached in zip folder.

ARM TEST.JPG

• Re: What am I doing wrong in this Simulation?
          Jared Conway

study 1 or study 2?

i noticed you have gravity in there. does it solve with gravity only? what about just the preload from the bolts only? that will tell you a lot about whats going on.

also, any specific reason for using ffe plus?

any reason that symmetry isn't being leveraged? half the problem = half the solution time.

the mesh is cranked way down so i'm surprised thati t took a long time but haven't had a chance try it myself. can do that tomorrow once i know which one to take a look at.

Chatura Elkaduwa

HI Eric,

1. You may set a local no penetration contact set with "node to surface" option, between the faces indicated below.
              This will override the default "surface to surface" contact condition and will simplify the analysis process
              Untitled.png
            2. Use curvature based mesh at default settings; you may keep the pre defined the mesh control settings.

3. Use the direct sparse solver; it is more stable, when it comes to studies with contact conditions.

It solved in my workstation within 8mins (2.6Ghz xeon processor and 8GB RAM)

If you need to check if the solver manages to complete without giving any errors, you may use a coarse mesh with draft quality elements (which solves in a few seconds)

Eric Henderson

Thanks for the responses.

Jared,