5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 26, 2013 8:04 AM by Ron McCarry

Data Card Variables/Values in SQL/XML/???

Caleb Keller

Hey all, I am extremely new to the world of Solidworks and Enterprise PDM. I have been digging through the server that backs our pdm installation and haven't come across a location where the information from the data cards is written. So my questions are thus:

• Does EPDM write the data card values to it's database?
      • If it does, what is the default location?
      • If it doesn't where are these values stored?

Thanks!

• Re: Data Card Variables/Values in SQL/XML/???
          Brian Dalton

Yes, it writes the values to the Db.

The Variables table holds the definitions of all defined variables.

The VariableValues table holds the actual value of each variable for each document.

To specify a particular piece of data you must specify the Variable (by VariableID), the Document (by DocumentID) and the version.

That's the basics... beyond that it's just a lot of poking around using SSMS to learn what needs to be learned.

Ron McCarry

An alternative to poking around in the server using SQL, I use the EPDM API and .NET or VBA. The data structures are not documented and can change from version to version. API call will continue to work though each upgrade. The API help file should be at "C:\Program Files\SolidWorks Enterprise PDM\API_GB.chm". It's not to hard once you get used to it.

PS: the Solidworks API help file should be at "C:\Program Files\SolidWorks Corp\SolidWorks\api\sldworksapi.chm"

Brian Dalton

Good points, Ron, though significant changes to database structures are very difficult to implement and support for existing installations (and generally considered a very bad practice) so the Db is not likely to change much from version to version.