4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 21, 2013 9:58 AM by Chris Dordoni

using point clouds?

Josh Killalea

sorry if this is in the wrong forum, but i couldn't see anything point cloud specific, mods please feel free to move.

I have never used point clouds before and would really like to learn, but i am finding it very hard to find any good information on how to work with them. in particular i am interested in learning how to create solids out of the point clouds we get. i am contracted to a mine and they have a heap of point clouds, however they are all HUGE and of things like the open cut pit and very complex buildings etc. to add to the dificulty, most of them are really quite rough in so far as when zoomed out, you can see what they are of, to quite a bit of detail, but as soon as you zoom in to try and select any points you loose all the detail. so i am thinking this might be a bit hard to learn the basics on.

so i am guessing my question is two stage;

1) is there anywhere to find good tutorials on how to use them with solidworks? i recall seeing something either in the help or on youtube once using (from memory) some kind of bend, but can't find it again now.

2) is there anywhere that explains the work flows with point clouds? or what the main purpose of them is? am i asking to much to want to get detailed solids from them?

also i have seen a video on youtube and it shows the addition of photos to the point cloud to give a 3d photo. is that possible to do with solidworks? or is that a different program again? if it is a different program, any ideas what the program is called?

• Re: using point clouds?
          Mathew Stevenson

One option is the addin Scan-to-3D (ScanTo3D) in SolidWorks but will mainly give you surfaces if not a very good point cloud to make a dumb solid. We use RapidWorks from NextEngine. They may give you a 30 demo if you call. RrapidWorks does not need the scanner as it's kind of like a stand alone LT version for RapidForm.