11 Replies Latest reply on Jun 26, 2013 2:53 PM by Andy Morum

Thickening surfaces that

Erin Keaney

Hello,

This is my first time posting on a SolidWorks Forum. I have been working on the attached part and am struggling with thickening the "shield" part of the glasses (green). I can get one side and the whole middle piece to thicken when I fillet the meeting edge of them, but then the fillet won't mirror or duplicate on the other meeting edge, which should be exactly the same. My goal is to have the whole "shield" knitted together, then place the fillets, then have it all thicken as one piece so there are no gaps.

I would also like this to be treated like a solid once it is thickened so some through holes I have actually cut through the "shield".

Any tips or help would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Erin

• Re: Thickening surfaces that
          Andy Morum

So I checked this out and I think I have a solution for you.  It may not be the most finest way but it seems to work.

I'll post the result but I am using 2012 Solidworks so not sure if you have this or not as I noted your file was in an older version.

1. I trimmed your lens using the right plane and removing the side with out the fillet.
          2. I then mirrored the remaining side using the right plane.
          3. I then thickened the part and all worked.

Give it a try and see what you think

I am attaching the repaired file and a edrawing just in case you can`t open the repaired file.

Andy M

Erin Keaney

I realized that this solution will not merge the shield together into one body and will not let me combine the two halves into one part.  It will will knit the surfaces, but this still keeps them as two seperate solid bodies.  In fact, I haven't gotten the "combine" feature for me to work on anything so far.  This is my first time making a multiple piece part in the same model.  Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Erin

Andy Morum

Erin