8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 18, 2014 4:59 PM by Justin Harwell

Sign industry using Solidworks

Christopher Vitela

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting, so let's hope I do this correctly.  I was just hired by a sign company to move us foward with using Solidworks instead of AutoCAD.  Does anyone have any experience in the sign idustry that could offer some advise for someone new to the field.  I have been using Solidworks for a year and a half, but I am not sure how it might benefit our company.

Also, we are using an ERP system, M1.  How can Solidworks and M1 communicate with each other?

I appreciate everyone's time and hope I can get some advise soon.

Chris V

• Re: Sign industry using Solidworks
          Glenn Schroeder

Christopher,

Welcome to the forum.  I don't work for a sign company, I work at a facility that designs and tests roadside safety structures, including signs.  (We also test anti-ram protective structures, that's the really fun stuff: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5YhniFLrIQI.)  Here is a sign that I modeled in SolidWorks for a recent test.  For testing we don't need the lettering, so I'm not very familiar with it, but I'm sure someone else can help with that.

Roland Schwarz

I've used SW with a 3rd-party PDM (Cyco/Meridian).  Worked fine.  Mostly it depends on the system's ability to read SW metadata.

SW still has trouble with graphic-artsy stuff.  Fonts are a bit off, and spline sontrol doesn't match what you would find in AI.  If you have a custome who is really picky about those things, you may have issues.

Christopher Clark