4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 21, 2013 4:21 PM by Scott McFarland

Trouble using ScanTo3D/point cloud

Scott McFarland

Hello all, I am a newbie to solidworks (and solid modeling really) and am having trouble getting my point clouds to work. Ultimately the point clouds need to become a solid surface that I can integrate into other parts. The final product is a 3d printed horn. The first file named "ambient" ends up deleting the lower part the funnel in an upside down U shape. I need this to stop before i can move forward.

The second one "wildlife" I can get all the way through mesh prep and surface wizard but shows up as a grid on my screen and I can't seem to Thicken or interact with the model. I particualarly need to merge it with basically a rectangular box where the funnel is the inner bounding surface.

Cheers and thanks in advance for any/all help!

• Re: Trouble using ScanTo3D/point cloud

Hi Scott,

Is the Wildlife shape a revolve?  If so trim the CP to 1 quarter using the right and top planes. then mesh, then use surface extraction to extract a revolved surface.

Mark

Scott McFarland

The wildlife can be a revolve as it is a simple exponential funnel/horn. I apoligize for my lack of know how but what are the steps to trim the Cloud Point using the right and top plane? I have been simply trying to create the entire surface all at once. The part you upload looks fantastic but I can't interact with it.

Thank you so much!

-Scott

Hi Scott,

first, make sure you open that point cloud file with the units changed to inches (at least that's what I'm assuming becuause if you don't its very small.) Go ahead and mesh it.