4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 19, 2013 12:33 PM by Mike Agan

Student Trial Network Install

Steve Lawrence

Hi,

I am a Network Manager in a school and I have just been handed a SolidWorks Student Trial disk and serial number.  What is the best, simplest, procedure for installing this to multiple computers (I understand that it is 60 day trial, this is what I have been asked to do).

I would prefer to use Active Directory msi deployment if possible. Is this possible with the trial?  How would the procedure differ for the trial?

Many thanks.

• Re: Student Trial Network Install
          Patrick O'Hern

The student edition is for single users only (one install per serial number), and is not for use by schools.

http://www.solidworks.com/sw/education/student-software-3d-mcad.htm

Institutional use of SolidWorks Student Edition is prohibited. Schools interested in licensing use should contact an authorized SolidWorks reseller.

You can find network installation instructions here, but they are only for the full Educational edition.

http://www.solidworks.com/sw/education/student-installation-guides-and-support.htm

I would recommend calling your local reseller and getting an evaluation version of the educational version.

Steve Lawrence

It was the head of department who phoned for this trial, I would presume that he explained it was for a school.  I will get back to him.  Although not allowing a STUDENT version in a SCHOOL seems a little ridiculous to me.  It is the STUDENTS who he wants to trial it with.

Thanks though.

Joe Kuzich

Steve,