4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 12, 2013 2:38 PM by Justice Sommer

Polygons viable in printed part.

Justice Sommer

This is my first 3D modeling project and I am completely self taught.  So please excuse my ignorance as I try to explain the issue I’m having.

I’m using Solidworks, and my parts have a lot of curved surfaces.  I found that when I received my printed parts from Shapeways, the polygons were visible on the curved surfaces.  The attached photo shows the problem.

Do I need to use more polygons somehow?  If so, where in Solidworks would I control that?

I've been unable to find any info on this.  I’m really as a loss so any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

1. PS.  I outputted the parts as .STL files, if that maters

• Re: Polygons viable in printed part.
          Jim Wilkinson

Hi Justin,

You can set the resolution of the STL file. The information about how to do so is in the help. Here is a URL for searching "STL" in the help file:

http://help.solidworks.com/Search.aspx?query=stl&version=2013&lang=English&prod=SolidWorks

The second topic talks about STL export options including resolution. The first result is a general topic on STL Files which also has a link to the export options help topic.

I hope this helps,

Jim

Justice Sommer

Hi Jim

Thank you SO much.  I feel a little silly that I couldn't find or figure that out on my own. 

I found Deviation and Angle in the Resolution field and turned them all the way up.  It apprears to make a big differance.  One of my parts is a dome shape and now looks smooth as butter.  However the cone part (that I used in my example picture) still appears to have some geometry lines (although much less).  I'll attache images of each

Any idea why the cone still looks as pollygonish while the dome is completly smooth?

Thanks again for any help.

domes.jpg

cones new.jpg

Jim Wilkinson

Hi Justice,