11 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2013 2:15 PM by Jerry Steiger

Handle of Spline?

Harley Ian

What is the meaning of a dimension given at the handle of a spline as below image?

http://s17.postimg.org/a5s7gjzmn/swdim.png

Is it the length of the handle?

If yes, why the length of the handle doesn't looks like 900 and 905?

It looks too short than 900 and 905.

If no, what is the mean of this dimension?

• Re: Handle of Spline?
          Deepak Gupta

Welcome to SolidWorks forums Harley.

It is Tangent Weighting of the spline handle. I'm not that good at surfacing or spline so can't really tell you its use. Please refer to help files to get more details.

You might also find this post helpful for your future reference

Harley Ian

Deepak Gupta wrote:

Welcome to SolidWorks forums Harley.

It is Tangent Weighting of the spline handle. I'm not that good at surfacing or spline so can't really tell you its use. Please refer to help files to get more details.

You might also find this post helpful for your future reference

I am not asking its uses.

I asked what is meant by the dimension given at the handle of the spline.

I never read and heard about tangent weighting in the curves and surfaces for computer aided design (e.g. bezier curve, b-spline curve, nurbs curve).

I do read about weight of the b-spline and nurbs curve but not the tangent weight.

Is weight = tangent wieght?

The curve  is look like a quadratic or cubic bezier curve to me

If it's a quadratic bezier curve, then point B will meet at point C.

So the control vertexes are, A, B-C,  and D.

But the length of the A-B handle is 900 and the length of C-D is 905.

It (A-B and C-D) will intersects at certain points.

Then it's a cubic bezier curve where the control vertexes are A, B, C, and D.

Also, the length of the A-B handle does not looks like 900 units, it looks shorter than 900 units, too short.

Similar as the length of the C-D handle.

Please cmiiw.

http://s23.postimg.org/xodirur17/swhandle.png