7 Replies Latest reply on May 30, 2013 7:54 AM by Raul Bueno

How to start learning to design in Solidworks

Randel Camardelle

Hi, I am a Mechanical Engineering student and want to learn to design in Solidworks. My dream is to design and build an Ultralight aircraft. I have no experience or formal training whatsoever in any design program, I've experimented with AutoCad but didn't really know where to go or how to learn anything. I need a good jumping in point, something to get me started to where I will not loose steam and burnout to fast. Any good book recommendations, DVD's, websites, or anything would be appreciated! Just remember my skill level when making your recommendations. Also, I have signed up for a class this fall (2013) to take an intro class, its for AutoCad. Thanks for your input in advance!

-Randy

• Re: How to start learning to design in Solidworks
          Roland Schwarz

If you are waiting around for instruction or permission to design, then you are not a designer.

Jerry Steiger

Roland,

Some people just get the flame almost completely blown out by the education system. Don't come down too hard on Randy; he may be more of a victim than you think. He will find out soon enough how much work it is to learn engineering.

Randy,

If your school is oriented towards AutoCAD, then you might want to stick with it for now. The tool you use to design with is not nearly as important as the design you do in your head. I've only used AutoCAD LT as a 2D drafting system and hated it, but there are a lot of people doing good work with Inventor and AutoCAD. Depending on your own personality and way of working, you may find it very hard and frustrating to try and move back and forth between two slightly different CAD systems, or it may not be a problem.