11 Replies Latest reply on May 21, 2013 12:49 PM by Jared Conway

SOLIDS VS SURFACES - IS SPEED THE ONLY ADVANTAGE?

Drew Fullerton

I'm very new to SW Sim Pro - less than a week in fact; however, I was wondering what the pros and cons of converting "stuff" within an assembly, regardless of how complex, into surfaces were - as opposed to leaving them as solids??

Is speed the only advantage or does accuracy improve as well (or does it suffer)?

Thoughts would be appreciated.

• Re: SOLIDS VS SURFACES - IS SPEED THE ONLY ADVANTAGE?
          Jared Conway

what "stuff" are you converting? if it is thin in one direction relative to the rest, that would make sense to convert to a shell. you want to go this way for solving speed but also from an accuracy standpoint, you want 2-3 elements across the thickness of a part so to do that with a thin solid, it might be very difficult in a reasonable amount of time.

same thing goes for using connectors and beams and other types of idealization.

Drew Fullerton

Jared, was wondering whether you would weigh in - lol. Been monitoring a number of forums and - there you are!

"Stuff" - my generic term for just about anything; however, other thatn speed, I am of the opinion that one should use solid bodies within FEA to approximate the real world as best we can - thoughts???

Jared Conway

Regardless of what idealization you use, the finite element method is still discretizing the problem so that it is solvable. You could do everything with solids but I'd you can do it in less time with the Sam level of accuracy, why wouldn't you take advantage of it?

You could argue that building a model for shells or beams might take some pre processing time but my experience is that either you'll start building your parts and assemblies smarter so they are easier to use in simulation or you'll work with models specifically for simulation for conceptual design. In both situations, the work needed is either eliminated or minimized significantly.