6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 30, 2013 8:29 AM by John Burrill

Why my whole sketch is'nt black?

John Chimbani

hi guys

Im in desparate need of help here. I just started learning solidworks and unfortunately i'm stuck...I have homework ive been working on for the better part of 2 weeks without getting it to work. Im doing the course online so unfortunately it takes time before i get a response from my teacher. The thing is has repeatedly mentioned the fact that its important that our sketchlines are all black, without really explaining why! Now im having an issue getting my whole sketch to be black. The thing is its worked when its simpler drawings like sqaures and such. This time though my homework is basically two reactangles stuck together with 3 point circles at each end. The actual sketching is not an issue, but when i start to add my dimensions it seems i can never get the circles to be black. What am i doing wrong???

• Re: Why my whole sketch is'nt black?
          Ray Howard

John, it sounds like your sketch is under-defined. You just need to add some dimensions or relations to fully define your sketch. Also, search the help for "Fully Define Sketch", this should get you all you need to finish your task....

Per Engberg

Screenshot 000073.pngTry dragging the geometry. Any geometry that is possible to move/drag/change is under constrained. Another possibility is to use the automatic dimensioning feature (tools, dimensions, fully define sketch).

Alan Stoldt

Some basic constraint to consider.

Hoprizontal and Vertical lines may appear adn also may be so, but not have the Horizontal Constraint, or Vetical Constraint, and so are underdefined. These are easy ones to miss until the have bitten you in the rear enough times.

John Lhuillier