5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 12, 2013 10:25 AM by Tom Bostick

Student to Contractor – Getting Started with the Cost of Software

Matthias Psencik

Solidworks is awesome and I seem to have a knack for it. After the 2nd semester of Solidworks I got my CSWP. I’m currently a student, finishing up my degree. I took an aptitude test and it said I should run my own “3D Business.” I had no idea what that meant until recently. I definitely have a strong entrepreneur drive – I don’t care if I have a degree or not, working a normal 9-5 is not my goal.

The Problem: I’m a student and the software is $8K but I want to start contracting. On top of that, I do not believe in borrowing money so getting a loan is not an option.

The Question is: Do I have options I'm not aware of?

I’m definitely not cut out to design gears all day. I have to have something challenging, unique, and allows me be creative…or else I’ll probably get myself fired.

It seems my work has impressed a few people and I keep getting requests from people and spent most of the class helping other students. First 30 minutes I would finish up my project and spend the next 2 hours helping other students on their homework and how to use Solidworks.

• Re: Student to Contractor – Getting Started with the Cost of Software
          Alin Vargatu

Matthias, what are you going to use SolidWorks for in your business:

- for designing products?

or

- for teaching other people how to use SolidWorks?

Matthias Psencik

Oddly enough, both. I have always been handy and built a many things prior to Solidworks, like guitars, amps, desks, robots, ect. Now, I find myself building stuff in Solidworks before I go make it out in the garage - no more guess work.

I have a vault of projects and ideas I could pull from to package some instructional projects that others may find helpful - would love to make some income that way.