7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 18, 2013 10:12 AM by Peter Biggert

Help with results????

Robert Smith

Hi, I have been using solidworks for a couple of months now and my work just upgraded to the premium package, i think i have managed to test a spreader beam but im haveing an issue with the results. The factor of safety is above 1 but its still red? i read on the solidworks website that if its above 1 then its safe and my model was at 383 but its still red, does this means it fails or ....? im quite confused. as well as the deflection?????? it looks crazy???? is that what would happen or could happen at the total worst possible outcome?????

Please see attched file for the results.

Thanks

any help would be much appreicated.

• Re: Help with results????
          Irfan Zardadkhan

Hi Robert,

The Color is just a representsation of the values that you see on the chart. Red being the lowest factor of safety (383) and blue being 846,783,872. Red does not mean failure, it just means the areas witht he lowest (383) factor of safety.

Chris Michalski

Robert -

if you look in the upper left corner of the deformed image it shows the deformation scale is 94-thousand  This means that if a node moves 0.001" it is going to look like it moves 94".  This helps to exaggerate areas that deform, but you will likely want to alter the deformation scale to keep it reasonable, especially for a part that deforms so uniformly.

If it deforms too much you would need to ensure a no-penetration between the vertical rib and the inside of the curved surface (so that it doesn't appear as if it passes through another body).

Peter Biggert

Robert