7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 16, 2013 3:53 PM by Jared Conway

Conduction through rocket nozzle insulation and housing

Addison Mauldin

Hi all,

I am learning my way with Simulation as I am new to this world.  I am trying to figure out how I can conduct a transient thermal analysis that will show the heat conducting through the layers of a rocket nozzle as a function of time.  Here is what I do know upfront.  I know the stagnation (recovery) temperature at several locations through the nozzle along with the material properties.  I also know the heat transfer coefficients for each of the given areas where the insulation is coming in contact with the combustion stream.  Is this something I could run by applying my initial temperature condition and by some way using the heat flux under the thermal load options?  Again, new to this world and appologize for my lack of understading.

Thanks

• Re: Conduction through rocket nozzle insulation and housing
            Addison Mauldin

I think I have it figured out.  Instead of running with the heat flux, I think switching over to a convection load would be better.  I know the convection coeffiecients at several locations along the axial direction of the nozzle.  At these sames locations I know the stagnation temp.  I assume I can set the stagnation temp as my bulk ambient air temperature (~5900 deg F) for the duration of the motor burn.  In other words make the bulk ambient air temp time dependent at the known surface locations inside my nozzle.  Does this seem logical?

Bill McEachern

Yes. If you have the Sim Premium product you maybe able to do a 2D axisymmetric model - might run a lot quicker if htat is a suiatble assumption. Any radiation going on or is it just smeard out in the convection coefficients that you are using? If only conduction then the time steps can be rather large with out running into much inthe way of issues.

Mike Pogue