6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 7, 2013 1:22 PM by Bjorn Sorenson

Time-dependent flat plate simulation, need help please.

Bjorn Sorenson

I'm trying to determine how long it will take to heat up a flat plate (roughly 10mm thick, 1/2 meter by 1 meter) to 150°C slowly by convection and need help with the flow simulation setup.

The model is a simple insulated box with the plate floating in the middle (I'll add some kind of support later) and heated air blowing in from one side, out the opposite side.

I ran it as an internal time-dependent analysis, but after half an hour of computational time, I got about .3 seconds of real time (I'm anticipating about an hour of total real time, so this isn't acceptable).  Is there a way to streamline the computation?

Also, will the solver stop when it reaches steady-state?  How do I know the final amount of real-time it took to reach steady-state (can this be accomplished with a goal)?

This is my first attempt at time-dependent analysis, so any advice would be greatly appreciated.   

• Re: Time-dependent flat plate simulation, need help please.
          Chris Michalski

Bjorn -

using the calculation control options you can set the time step manually.  This will give you a faster calculation with a reduction in accuracy (likely not much based on the size of your plate).

You can set it to solve with goals and track the temperature to determine when you have reached what you consider a steady-state soluton.  If you do not specify goals and let it stop based on those goals converging, then it will run until it reaches the real time limit you set.

Bill McEachern

given that once the convection field is established it will be more or less steady, you could use flow freezing to speed up the calc. You would need to have the calc go for say 1/4 to 1/2 a travel and then invoke flow freezing. You may have to put in forced saving at specific times to ensure you get adequate temporal resolution.

Joe Galliera