1 Reply Latest reply on Mar 6, 2013 7:22 PM by Jerry Steiger

Models are not saving correctly, and are unable to rebuild...

David Ulicne

I am new to SolidWorks in general. I have used Autodesk for the past 5 years since Highschool & college. My new job requires me to use Solidwoks, and it's difficult for me to convey the process that SolidWorks uses to create models. It is similar AutoDesk and at the same time, it is so much different. If you have to use complete "..for Dummies" terminology, I won't be offended.

To the Point* Problem: 1

I have been creating models as you should, sketch, extrude, create from planes, etc. Although, some of the drawings I work on are very complex, the assemblies consisting of under 10 parts, are for the most part, "Disappearing". I go to open a file I was working on previously yesterday and the file is there, but the model has dissappeared. This has happened to me twice already and I had to completely remodel multiple parts from scratch. A good few hours on each makes you realize that something is not right.

An error usally occurs saying that the model is unable to rebuild due to missing constraints/planes/or references. Usually this happens when I have them in an assembly. We have converted to 2013 from 2012 software, in the time that I started and I don't want this problem to continue. I am unsure if I'm constraining these incorrectly or this software does not like me one bit. I make sure that there are no errors/warnings with my sketches/models, and once the assembly was near finished, I save.. then this happens..