5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 1, 2013 12:47 AM by Mikael Martinsson

"Material not defined for one or more shells" problem

Unspecified Unspecified

As stated in the title i have a problem with static simulation in SolidWorks 2011. I'm doing this for an assignement (I'm a student). This is a frame for an agricultural device, made out of two rectangular and two circular beams and sheet metal. I made midsurfaces for all the parts and deleted the bodys. In the Study i defined shells from midsurfaces. I am able to mesh the assembly, i also defined the material (alloy steel) but when i try to run a basic load and fixture example it plots a warning: "Material not specified to one or more shells". I have no idea what is the case with this as all the parts have material defined in the simulation tree.

I also attached the assembly in this post. I hope someone has the solution because this is pretty important to me.

• Re: "Material not defined for one or more shells" problem
          Mikael Martinsson

Hi.

I got it to run when I switched to standard mesh, global size 50 mm.

But you have more work to do to run this problem. Surfaces have gaps between them and some also interfere. Contact conditions need to be added manually. (see results below)

Skärmklipp.JPG

• Re: "Material not defined for one or more shells" problem
              Unspecified Unspecified

Thank you very very much Mikael. I tried the simulation again with removed beams (only the middle part of the frame remaining). I defined contasts manually but still, the top two parts with three holes each penetrate the top shell (as seen on the picture bellow). Would anyone know the solution for this?.