6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 12, 2013 9:40 AM by Shawn Kelly

SQL Question from a SQL Noob...

Brian Dalton

I'm getting my feet wet on using SQL to query the PDM database, and I need to get a list of files and several of the variables attached to them.  My code works fine on those files where each of the required variables actually exists, but there are a number of older files which were created before some of these variables were implemented, so these older files have no value at all for particular variables.

I'd like them to show up but with that space just left empty, instead the records with missing variables just don't get included in the query results.  I'm a ham-fisted noob on this stuff, so please don't laugh (well, OK. Go ahead) at my clumsy code.  Could someone explain to me how to fix it so I can still get records where some of the fields have no values?

Here goes...

SELECT XD.Filename AS 'Component', VVRev.ValueText AS 'Rev', VVDesc.ValueText AS 'Description',

X.RefCount AS 'Qty', VVVend.ValueText AS 'Vendor', VVVNum.ValueText AS 'Vendor P/N'

FROM XRefs X, Documents D, Documents XD, VariableValue VVRev, VariableValue VVDesc,

VariableValue VVVend, VariableValue VVVNum

WHERE D.DocumentID = 76503 AND

X.DocumentID = D.DocumentID AND

X.RevNr = D.LatestRevisionNo AND

XD.DocumentID = X.XRefDocument AND

VVRev.DocumentID = XD.DocumentID AND

VVRev.VariableID = 46 AND --Revision

VVRev.RevisionNo = (SELECT MAX(VVR1.RevisionNo)

FROM VariableValue VVR1

WHERE VVR1.DocumentID = XD.DocumentID AND

VVR1.VariableID = VVRev.VariableID) AND                         

VVRev.ConfigurationID = (SELECT MAX(VVR2.ConfigurationID)

FROM VariableValue VVR2

WHERE VVR2.DocumentID = XD.DocumentID AND

VVR2.VariableID = VVRev.VariableID AND

VVR2.RevisionNo = VVRev.RevisionNo) AND

VVDesc.DocumentID = XD.DocumentID AND

VVDesc.VariableID = 45 AND --Description

VVDesc.RevisionNo = (SELECT MAX(VVD1.RevisionNo)

FROM VariableValue VVD1