7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 6, 2013 8:44 AM by Joe Kuzich

Need help with some basics

Courtney Terry

Hi all,

So to sum this one up: I'm an Electrical Engineer learning to use SolidWorks for the first time. I've recently started work at a new company, and the task I'm currently on is to implement a new part number system. I have a hand-wavey idea of what I'm doing at best.

I'm struggling with two issues:

One- renaming PDFs is pain-free enough, but renaming part files and assemblies and/or relocating files makes SolidWorks complain. Can anyone recommend any tutorials or pointers for renaming part/assembly files with new part numbers without breaking top-level assemblies?

Two- I'm finding that creating parts from scratch is easy enough, but I'm having trouble with updating dimensions in existing parts. Supposing I want to change a length- I open the part, and click extrude1 (or whatever number the correct 2D sketch is from the feature manager, yes? Can I do this on a part I've saved from McMaster, and if yes how?

Thanks for any help, folks!

~Court

• Re: Need help with some basics
          Timothy Holman

SolidWorks Explorer.  This tool makes changing file names and moving files around easy and maintains file references. 

If you have features in the parts you are downloading then you should be able to edit them just like you could parts that you created yourself.  The design intent might be different than what you might use. 

Tom Strohscher

To rename a file.

Open all assemblies and drawings that use the part file.  Open the part file too.  Use File, Save As and give the part file a new name.

The references in the assembly and drawing files will be updated.

The assembly then needs to be saved.  The drawing file will also need to be saved but usually the the drawing file name will change too so it matches the part file.