13 Replies Latest reply on Feb 8, 2013 9:58 AM by Laila H

problem adding orthotropic material

Laila H

hi everyone.. I'm new to solid works ..

I'm having a problem adding a material as linear elastic orthotropic.. I followed the general steps but I always get this message (the following problems with this material were detected: Not all mandatory references have been selected.).. I think it's because I never managed to choose a reference geometry (it's always blocked!!!).. I tried to do it in the simulation part but it was never saved.. would you help me please???

I'm using Solidworks Education Edition 2010 SP4.0

• Re: problem adding orthotropic material
          Laila H

I need your help plzzzzzzz

Laila H

Sorry to insist.. as I said I'm new to SolidWorks..

I need a detailed response from someone who faced the same problem..

Laila H

in solid works help I read this:

To define an orthotropic material:

1. Create a custom material beased on an existing material with similar properties to the orthotropic material you want to create.
              2. On the Properties tab of the Material dialog box, select Linear Elastic Orthotropic in Model Type.
              3. From the FeatureManager design tree, select the reference geometry to define the orthotropic material directions.The selected reference geometry appears in the Reference geometry box.
              4. Enter the values of the material properties.
              5. Click Apply and Close.

first: I don't have a library with orthotropic material.. does anyone have?

second: it's not possible to select a refernce geometry

Justin Strempke

Laina,

There are no materials with orthotropic properties, the Help was simply stating to choose a 'close' material to copy/paste for your new material.  You add in all your properties, then save/exit, without applying the material (or just applying it in Linear Elastic Isotropic for reference).